The call for papers is also available in a PDF version.

Important dates

submission deadline: November 17, 2011
notification to authors: January 23, 2012
Preproceedings version deadline: February 28, 2012
Workshop: March 19-21, 2012
Proceedings version deadline: April 30, 2012

General Information

FSE 2012 is the 19th annual Fast Software Encryption workshop, for the eleventh year sponsored by the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR). FSE 2012 will take place in Washington DC, USA. Original research papers on symmetric cryptology are invited for submission to FSE 2012. The workshop concentrates on fast and secure primitives for symmetric cryptography, including the design and analysis of block ciphers, stream ciphers, encryption schemes, analysis and evaluation tools, hash functions, and message authentication codes (MACs).

Instructions for Authors

Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that any of the authors has published in a journal or a conference/workshop with proceedings, or has submitted/is planning to submit before the author notification deadline to a journal or other conferences/workshops that have proceedings. Accepted submissions may not appear in any other conference or workshop that has proceedings. IACR reserves the right to share information about submissions with other program committees to detect parallel submissions and the IACR policy on irregular submissions will be strictly enforced. Double submissions with the co-located third SHA-3 conference are allowed, but the papers accepted for FSE 2012 will be presented at FSE 2012 only, in order to avoid double presentations.

The submission must be written in English and be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgments, or obvious references. It should begin with a title, a short abstract, and a list of keywords. The length of the submission should be at most 14 pages excluding bibliography and appendices using single column with at least 11pt size font, reasonably sized margins and in total not more than 20 pages. The introduction should summarize the contributions of the paper at a level appropriate for a non-specialist reader. Committee members are not required to read appendices; the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

Submissions to FSE 2012 should be submitted electronically in PDF format. A detailed description of the electronic submission procedure is available on FSE 2012 website. The authors of submitted papers guarantee that their paper will be presented at the workshop if their paper is accepted.


Preproceedings will be available at the workshop. Proceedings will be published in Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. Authors of accepted papers will be required to complete the IACR copyright assignment form, for their work to be published in the workshop final proceedings.

Workshop Information and Stipends

The primary source of information is this website. A limited number of stipends are available to those unable to obtain funding to attend the workshop. Students, whose papers are accepted and who will present the paper themselves, are encouraged to apply if such assistance is needed. Requests for stipends should be sent to the general chair.

Program Committee

Alex Biryukov University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Anne Canteaut (Chair)INRIA, France
Guang Gong University of Waterloo, Canada
Martin Hell Lund University, Sweden
Antoine Joux DGA and Université de Versailles Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, France
Pascal JunodHEIG-VD, Switzerland
John KelseyNIST, USA
Dmitry KhovratovichMicrosoft Research, USA
Lars Ramkilde Knudsen Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Gregor Leander Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Stefan Lucks Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, Germany
Subhamoy Maitra ISI Kolkata, India
Willi Meier FHNW, Switzerland
Shiho Moriai Sony Corporation, Japan
María Naya-Plasencia FHNW, Switzerland
Elisabeth Oswald University of Bristol, United Kingdom
Vincent Rijmen K.U.Leuven, Belgium and TU Graz, Austria
Matt Robshaw Orange Labs, France
Yu Sasaki NTT Corporation, Japan
François-Xavier Standaert Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium
Serge Vaudenay EPFL, Switzerland
Gilles Van Assche STMicroelectronics, Belgium

General Chair

Bruce Schneier British Telecom, USA

Contact Information

All correspondence and/or questions should be directed to:
Bruce Schneier Anne Canteaut
British Telecom, USA INRIA, France
+1 612 823 1098 +33 1 3963 5967